A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  X  Y  Z 
Giuseppe Antonio Bernabei
1649 - 1732
G.A. Bernabei
Giuseppe Antonio Bernabei (1649 - 09/03/1732), an Italian composer of opera's and church music (born in Rome). Son of Ercole Bernabei (1620 - 1687).
Source:Grove’s dictionary of music and musicians
Contributor:Tassos Dimitriadis (picture)
Requiem in C minor (2x)
Musical form:masses
Text/libretto:Latin mass
He wrote two Requiems in C minor for four voices and instruments.
Libera me (2x)
Musical form:responsory
He wrote two settings of the reponsory Libera me.
Requiem in F major
Composed in:1689
Musical form:mass
Text/libretto:Latin mass
Requiem in F major for mixed choir and SATB.
Source:Dagny Wegner, Requiemvertonungen in Frankreich zwischen 1670 und 1850, Hamburg, 2005
Missa pro defunctis
Composed in:1710
Musical form:mass
Text/libretto:Latin mass
Giuseppe Antonio Bernabei wrote one Missa pro defunctis for four voices and instruments in 1710, as part of his 6 Missarum brevium cum una defunctis, Liber primus.
Source:Riemann Musik Lexikon
Contributor:Tassos Dimitriadis
Later in the 17th century numerous requiem settings, many in concertato style, were produced by composers including G.B. Bassani, G.A. Bernabei, Antonio Bertali (eight settings), Biber, Giovanni Cavaccio, Cavalli, Cazzati, Joan Cererols, G.P. Colonna, P.A. Fiocco (three settings), Santino Girelli, J.K. Heller, J.C. Kerll (two settings), A.V. Michna, Marcin Mielczewski, Alessandro Scarlatti, Johann Stadlmayer, Christoph Straus (two settings) and Viadana.
Author:Steven Chang-Lin Yu
The pricipal musical change in the Requiem mass during the 18th century was simple expansion of the settings through more frequent text repetition and, in particular, through more lengthy treatment of the sequence. The requiem by G.A. Bernabei treats each verse of the sequence as an individual movement
Author:James W. Pruett
Source:The new Grove dictionary of music and musicians