Bonaventura Rubino
bef.1643 - 1668
No picture
B. Rubino
Bonaventura Rubino (flourished 1643 - 1668), an Italian composer (born in Montecchio). We know neither the exact date of Bonaventura Rubino's birth nor that of this death. On the frontespiece of his works, he declares himself to be a native of Montecchio di Lombardia (near Bergamo). He was a Franciscan of the order of Minors Conventual. It was as chapel-master in the cathedral that he came to Palermo where his presence is noted from 1643 to 1665.
Fra Bonaventura was soon at home in Palermo where we find him again as a member of the Accademia dei Riaccesi, an association which took part in feast and religious ceremonies. So Rubino was an essential leader in the musical life of Palermo in mid-century, alongside other composers like Giovan Battista Fasolo, Vincenzo Amato or Bonaventura Aliotti. He compositions were played in many of the city chapels, notably during the festivities dedicated to St Rosalie which allow us to preserve his sacred dialogue whose music has unfortunately been lost: Rosalia Guerriera.
From what remains of Rubino's production, there are seven collections of sacred music, written between 1645 and 1658, i.e. during his time in Palermo, and all published by printers of the town.
The first collection is entitled Prima Parte del tesoro armonico (First part of the harmonic treasure) (Palermo, P. Scalglione & S. D'Angelo, 1645). In the prefatory note to the virtuoso reader", Rubino explains the reasons for this title of the collection and defines its objective whilst explaining the plan of the work: "The name Treasure I have given to my first work aims to show the multiplicity of compositions it contains (...)". Rubino admits having followed the example of the most illustrious of his predecesssors who ingeniously gave the name Selva of any other signifying universal to the sanctity of their compositions".
The reference to the Selva morale e spirituale shows once again to what extent Monteverdi served as a model to his contemporaries and posterity. The novelty of Rubino was to provide chapel-masters with a complete and varied tool, by publishing in four separate parts everything necessary for liturgical service. The four sections of the project are divided thus;
The first part is devoted to the Masses (we find there his first and second works as well as his Requiem mass of Opus IV), the second everything concerning Vespers, in particular psalms and hymns (works II, V, VI and VII); the third motets and sonatas (work III and IV) and finally the fourth "psalms with variable harmonies for compline and litanies.
Author:Giuseppe Collisani /Daniele Ficola
Le messe de requiem
Composed in:1653
Musical form:mass
Text/libretto:Latin mass
This requiem mass for mixed voices (SSATB) with basso continuo, is part of opus IV.