A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  X  Y  Z 
David Lockart
1955 -
United States of America, WA
D. Lockart
David Lockart (05/12/1955), an American composer and teacher, from Seattle. He serves as the District Supervisor of Music for the North Hunterdon Voorhees High School District where he has taught music, including Music Theory, choral music, voice, and musical theater for the past 23 years. Mr. Lockartís award-winning choirs have toured throughout the eastern United States, Canada, and Europe, and have presented joint concerts with college choirs, community choirs and orchestras. Mr. Lockart is the founding coordinator and artistic director of the New Jersey Young Composers Festival since its inception in 1996, a program offering seminars in musical composition to teen musicians from throughout the state. Mr. Lockart has served as a consultant for the College Board and ETS as a reader for Advanced Placement Music Theory Examinations for the past 10 years, and he recently completed a 4-year appointment to the A.P. Music Theory Development Committee, responsible for writing the AP Music Theory exam. Mr. Lockart is a lecturer for the College Board and teaches AP Music Theory Institutes throughout the United States. Mr. Lockart is a composer of choral music, and has several works published. In 1999 one of Mr. Lockartís compositions was selected as a finalist in the Ithaca College Music Composition Contest. Currently a member of MENC and ACDA, Mr. Lockart is active in Region II and All-State choral activities, and served as conductor of the 2000 New Jersey Region II Honors Choir. Mr. Lockart received his Bachelor of Music degree from Westminster Choir College, a Master of Choral Music degree from the University of Illinois and his Supervisorís Certification from The College of New Jersey. Mr. Lockart lives in Clinton Township with his wife, Linda, a church musician, and their two children, both pursuing careers as professional musicians.
Period:21st century
Composed in:2003
Musical form:free
Text/libretto:Latin mass + English texts
Passing contains:
I. Blessed Are They That Mourn (Comfort) SATB, Organ
II. Ubi Caritas (Love) SATB a cappella
III. You Now Are Sorrowful (Sorrow) Mezzo-soprano Solo, Organ
IV. Death, After All, Claims Everyone (Pain) Tenor Solo, Organ
V. Lord, Make Me Know Mine End (Hope) SATB, Organ
VI. To Olga (Truth) SATB, Organ
VII. Lacrymosa (Frailty) Baritone Solo, Organ
VIII. Birdsong (Happiness) Mezzo-soprano Solo, SATB, Flute, Organ
IX. Pie Jesu SATB, Organ

Passing is a collection of vocal works that are written to address the circumstances of death. It is not intended to be a requiem for one who has died, but rather provides music for those who survive the death of a loved one, as they work through their grief to arrive at solace and understanding. The texts have been selected from three main sources: the Bible, the Requiem Mass, and "I Never Saw Another Butterfly," a collection of poetry by children held in the Terezin Concentration Camp during World War II. Above all, Passing is a celebration of life. From our grief and pain emerges a sense of wholeness, love, and peace. Although Passing was conceived and constructed as a complete work to be performed in its entirety, individual movements are equally effective when performed separately. The music has been composed with high school, college and church choirs in mind. Passing performed in its entirety has a duration of thirty minutes.
"It is not dedicated to a person in particular. I was affected by the death of my father-in-law, and by the deep pain and search for peace by his loved ones. I was seeking to explore the feelings of those who grieve. Unique to this piece is the choice of text, which was a combination of poetry by children in the Terezin Concentration Camp and from the Bible. It is a mix of faiths, but the juxtaposition is, to me, fascinating."
Author:David Lockart