A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  X  Y  Z 
Elena Firsova
1950 -
E. Firsova
Elena Firsova (21/03/1950), a female Russian composer. The Leningrad-born, Moscow-trained composer, emerged in the 1970s as one of the most distinctive and imaginative Russian voices of her generation. Her music reflects the influence of her mentor Denisov but transforms his expansive lyricism into something more personal, private and romantic. She often sets the intimate and confessional poetry of Mandelstam, one of the greatest modern Russian poets, who died in the Stalinist camps in 1938. Her orchestral works and concertos incline to delicate chamber-music textures and singing melodic lines. Since the early 1990s, Firsova and her composer husband Dmitri Smirnov have lived in the UK.
Period:21st century
Composed in:2001
Musical form:free
Text/libretto:Anna Akhmatova
This requiem (Op.100) after Anna Akhmatova (1889 - 1966), is for soprano, chorus and orchestra.
Anna Akhmatova is the literary pseudonym of Anna Andreevna Gorenko. Her first husband was Gumilev, and she too became one of the leading Acmeist poets. Her second book of poems, Beads (1914), brought her fame. Her earlier manner, intimate and colloquial, gradually gave way to a more classical severity, apparent in her volumes The Whte Flock (1917) and Anno Domini MCMXXI (1922). The growing distaste which the personal and religious elements in her poetry aroused in Soviet officialdom forced her thereafter into long periods of silence; and the poetic masterpieces of her later years, A Poem without a Hero and Requiem, were published abroad.
Anna Akhmatova