A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  X  Y  Z 
Wayne L. Davies
1975 -
Great Britain, Wales
W.L. Davies
Wayne L. Davies (1975), a Welsh composer (from Aberdare (South Wales).
"My musical education began at secondary school (Aberdare Boys School, South Wales, UK) when I began playing the violoncello and piano. My interest in composition began at the age of 10 with a series of suites written for a small chamber orchestra and various scores for violoncello and/or piano. Whilst studying GCSE music, I began to write a 'Symphony in the Classical Style'. In 1994, I came to the University of Cambridge (King's College) to read Medicine. Many important works were composed during this time and some were performed in various King's College Composers' Concerts. The previous few years have been an exciting period of musical experimentation and development. Shying away from the more 'traditional' sounds of music to encompass the 'minimalist' world of Steve Reich and Philip Glass and the 'neo-tonalist' sounds of Einojuhani Rautavaara; Arvo Part; Peteris Vasks; Nicholas Maw and Christopher Rouse, has allowed me to enter a new period of compositional style."
Composed in:1995
Musical form:mass
Text/libretto:Latin mass
"Works by Mozart, Brahms, Faure and John Rutter, inspired me to begin composition of Requiem in 1994. The work is scored for solo soprano, solo alto, mixed choir and orchestra. The movements "Requiem aeternam" and "Agnus Dei" were submitted in 1996 as part of my A Level music portfolio."
It contains:
- Requiem aeternam
- Kyrie
- Pie Jesu
- Agnus Dei
- In paradisum