A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  X  Y  Z 
Susannah Self
20th - century
Great Britain | England
S. Self
Susannah Self (20th century), a female English composer and mezzo-soprano. She was born in Great Britain in a family of artists. She studied singing with the mezzo-soprano Josephine Veasey, composition with Stephen Dodgson and the lute with Jacob Lindberg at London’s Royal College of Music. On a Royal Society of Arts scholarship, she continued her studies with the soprano Sena Jurinac in Gemrany and as a scholar of Canada’s Banff Centre she studied under the composer John Cage. She collaborated for seven years with the the Flemish Opera in Belgium [Vlaamse Opera] and the National Rhine Opera in Strasbourg [Opera National du Rhin]. She also collaborated on a steady basis with the Glyndebourne festival, the Opera North and the London Royal Opera House. Her repertory includes staple as well as rare role from contemporary works, such as: Mrs. Grose [Turn of the Screw], (Salzburg, Santiago), Emilia [Othello] (Flanders Opera), The Auntie [ Peter Grimes] (Rhine National Opera), Ulrika [A Masked Ball, Un ballo in maschera], Baba the Turk [The rake’s progress] (London, Lisbon Opera), Madame Flora [The Medium], Mistress Quickly [Falstaff], (Salzburg, Chile), Mary [The Flying Dutchman/ Der fliegende Holländer], Jezibaba [Rusalka], Aksinia [Lady Macbeth by Mtsensk] etc. She often appears in concert hall performances. She is particularly active as a composer. She composed two symphonies which were recorded with the Philharmonic Orchestra of Moravia. Her opera Heroic Women was presented by BBC Radio 3 and toured in Taiwan, Spain, U.S.A. and Mexico. She collaborated once with the Greek National Opera (GNO) when she sang the role of the Third secretary in the opera Nixon in China (Athens Megaron Concert Hall, 2006/07).
Sea Requiem
Period:21st century
Composed in:2022
Musical form:mass
Text/libretto:Latin mass and English texts
Duration:ca. 40'
In memory of:the composers father Micheal Self
Sea Requiem for soprano, mezzo, tenor and baritone soloists, SATB chorus, two horns and string orchestra.
It contains:
01. Introitus: requiem aeternam
02. Kyrie
03. As if the sea should part (text by Emily Dickinson)
04. Offertorium
05. Sanctus
06. From Song of Myself (tect by Walt Whitman)
07. De Profundis
08. Pie Jesu
09. Agnus Dei
10. The Sea (text By John Keats)
11. Libera me
12. Sequentia: Dies Irae
13. Lux aeterna
14, In Paradisum
The Sea Requiem was composed by Dr Self on the Greek island of Skyros in 2021 in memory of her father Micheal Self QC. There are also other dedications in movements in the score . It is scored for SATB choir and soloists with a string orchestra and two horns . It is designed to go with the Fauré Requiem . The harmonies and tunes are intentionally accessible so that choral societies and choirs will enjoy singing it. The usual Requiem text is interfaced with poems by Keats, Walt Whitman and Emily Dickinson .These settings are sung by the soloists. The première was in The Lady Chapel of Ely Cathedral on April 1st 2023 by North Sea Singers and Orchestra led by The Chaos Collective with Susannah Self - Conductor/Mezzo, Michael Christie - Co-conductor. Soloists: Catherine Joule - soprano, Christopher Lemmings - tenor, Julian Godlee - Bass, Ivan McCready - cello.