Mikko Heiniö
1948 -
M.K. Heiniö
Mikko Kyösti [Mikko] Heiniö (18/05/1948), a Finnish composer. He studied the piano with Liisa Pohjola and composition with Joonas Kokkonen at the Sibelius Academy from 1971 to 1975. The two years 1975–77 were spent with the Polish teacher Witold Szalonek in Berlin. Heiniö also studied musicology at the University of Helsinki, graduating in 1984, and has been Professor of musicology at the University of Turku since 1986.
In addition to composing, Mikko Heiniö is one of Finland's leading musicologists. His doctoral dissertation entitled "The idea of innovation and tradition" (1984) dealt with the musical philosophy of contemporary Finnish composers. Articles by him on 20th century Finnish music, neoclassicism, dodecaphony, serialism and postmodernism are to be found (in Finnish) in "The History of Finnish Music", volume 4, "Contemporary Music". Heiniö has also had a number of smaller articles published in the "Finnish Music Quarterly".
Composed in:1992
Musical form:fragment
Luceat, composed in 1992, is for mixed choir. Duration: 10'. Commissioned by the Jubilate Choir (December 6, 1992).
Text: fragments from the requiem mass (in Latin):

Libera me, Domine, de morte aeterna,
in die illa tremenda.
Requiem aeternam dona eis, Domine,
et lux perpetua luceat eis.