Anne Kilstofte
1954 -
United States of America, AZ
A.C. Kilstofte
Anne Carol [Anne] Kilstofte (01/11/1954), a female American composer and music educator working in the Minneapolis/St. Paul area of Minnesota, born in Tucson (Arizona).
Dr. Kilstofte primarily writes for ensembles such as orchestras, choirs, chamber groups (string quartets, brass quintets, and woodwind quintets, to name only a few), and for audiences both young and old. Her compositions for voice are thought by some to be her true metier.
Kilstofte was raised in Colorado by a visual artist and structural engineer and was immersed in classical music from a very early age. She began piano studies at age 4, and performing professionally at the age of 12, as a pianist, organist, and singer.
Requiem for still voices
Period:21st century
Composed in:2003
Musical form:free
Requiem for still voices is for mezzo-soprano soloist, 3 flutes (picc); 2 oboes, 1 English horn, 2 B flat clarinets, B flat bass clarinet, 2 bassoons 4 fr. horns, 3 B flat trumpets, 3 trombones (doubling bass tbn), tuba timpani, 3-4 percussion piano, harp, strings. Duration: ca. 40 min.
This Requiem does not use standard Catholic mass but secular texts about life and death, including "God's World" by Edna St. Vincent Millay (1892-1950), text attributed to Anne Boleyn (1502-1536) while awaiting execution, texts by John Galsworthy (1867-1933), Walt Whitman (1819-1892), Charlotte Mew (1879-1928), Rainer Maria Rilke (1875-1926), Eugene Field (1850-1895), and finishing with the traditional Latin text "Lux Aeterna".
Stylistically it is very lush with expansive colors. Very accessible to audiences. This piece tells of the experience of death and its eventual acceptance. After its premiere many people were moved to tell the composer how they were able to relate to it in their own experience either through their own brushes with death or in losing a loved one. Above all, this is a piece about hope, redemption, and affirmation.
This piece was commissioned by the Cherry Creek Chorale, funded by the Bush Artist Fellowship of Minnesota, the McKnight Foundation, and the Minnesota State Arts Board as well as funding through the Chorale itself.
Anne Kilstofte: "I do have an additional Requiem which is for double wind quintet and piano, which comes from an opera I wrote, entitled Matches. I am guessing on the date of the completion of the quintet piece because it was completed long before the entire opera was completed (1995). The opera has still never been premiered, but this piece has, and I'm guessing it was 1992, so that would be the date of that particular piece. It's title is Requiem for Fallen Stars, the fallen stars are referenced in the opera as souls moving to heaven. The opera is based on the Hans Christian Andersen tale, The Little Match Girl, which mentions the shooting stars' meaning. The work was premiered by Harmonia Mundi, St. Paul, Minnesota, with J. Michele Edwards, conductor."
Author:Anne Kilstofte
Picture Picture Picture Picture
Edna St. Vincent
Millay (text)
John Galsworthy
Anne Boleyn
Walt Whitman
Picture Picture Picture
Charlotte Mew
R.M. Rilke
E. Field